Social Networking can be both Social and Networking…

“You’re on Twitter? What are you, an egotist?”
“No-one wants to hear what you’ve got to say for goodness sake”
“Isn’t it all people just writing ‘I’m having a cheese and pickle sandwich’? Who cares when someone’s having a cheese and pickle sandwich?”

These are all genuine responses I’ve had when I mention that I use Twitter (@AshleyConnick). They’re the kind of responses that I’m sure many of the more-than-145 million registered users of the social network have heard in their time. My last blogpost was about not telling people they’re objectively wrong, so of course I believe that people are entitled to their view. But I am writing this in order to try and leave them better-informed about the way Twitter works, and in doing so hope perhaps to change an opinion or two.

The deadline for my first piece of coursework on my Law Conversion course is approaching, so in honour of this I decided to do the piece of work. I started it one afternoon before moving on to other work and then napping pre-Day 2 of the Adelaide Test. At tea of Day 2 (4:40 am GMT) I was not tired and decided to resume work. I tweeted that I was going to relegate the cricket into the background in order to do my essay. “What’s the essay on?” came the question from two distinguished tweeters: David Allen Green of Preiskel & Co (@davidallengreen), who blogs under the name Jack of Kent (a must-read) (@JackOfKent), and Mike Semple Piggot, aka Charon QC (@charonqc), who amongst many things produces the wonderful “Insite Law” website, an invaluable legal resource. I replied that it was on a comparison of the rights and remedies available under the Consumer Protection Act 1987 with those available under the tort of negligence and contract law. There followed a discussion of the issues, with me gaining some valuable insights and knowledge. I was able to learn about resources to help me in my studies, about the practical impact of the legislation from the perspective of practising and experienced lawyers, and about books for me to read around the subject with. As CharonQC said at the time to David and me, “where else but twitter could three men be discussing Contract and watching the Ashes at 6.00 am – love it!” This is not something that many people contemplate to be what happens on Twitter – a useful conversation rather than a series of pronouncements with no engagement from others, which is the assumption.

A while ago I was quoted in a Guardian newspaper article by Neil Rose, who tweets as @LegalFutures, in an article called “Tweet success awaits the savvy lawyer”, in which he talked of the fantastic networking opportunities available online, and the great and inexpensive method of publicity it provides. There is no doubt that Twitter is a place for social conversation and no small degree of nonsense – any of you who have read my tweets may be comfortably of that opinion. But it is also a network of such opportunity. I use my twitter account as a newsfeed, a method of communication with people I would not normally have access to, a way to converse with people with similar interests and many other things besides.

The College of Law’s media director is one of the many people I have “met” via Twitter. Jon Harman, who tweets under the username @colmmu, is keen to move the teaching of law forward with technology. He and I conducted a webchat a couple of weeks ago, using a messageboard system that may replace the current ELITE website the College uses. He is as effusive as I am about the benefits of Twitter. “This is why I am keen to explore facilitating the connections,” he said to me after reading the discussions I’d had at 6am with David and Mike, “the knowledge is in the network!” He’s not wrong.

I shan’t pretend that Twitter as a website is solely a work-related entity. I shan’t pretend that it’s even that for me. But it has brought me many new ideas and many connections with people I could never have otherwise had. Whether it’s being able to ask Surrey’s opening batsman Michael Brown (@MichaelBrown80) how his rehab is progressing, discussing a Telegraph newspaper article with its author, Steve James (@sjamesjourno), whilst he is on the other side of the world, or talking to lawyers in Scotland, Leeds or even in my own city, Twitter has given me a great deal. We don’t always talk about law – but then at “networking drinks” or whatever the ‘traditional’ method of gaining these kind of connections is, is the topic of conversation always serious? We are connecting as people with a common interest and that is hugely valuable.

This may have seemed like a defence of what I choose to do with my time, but it isn’t; I will carry on Tweeting regardless of what people think, as I have done for more than 12 months and more than 8,500 bursts of 140 characters. It is an opportunity to show those who don’t understand the medium what it can do for you. The world is changing and moving forwards rapidly – this is one of the ways it is doing so. A discussion which runs parallel to my opinions blogpost is one I consistently have with my friend Leanne about how useful generalisations are. Here is another example of how I feel they are unhelpful: to say that Twitter is for egotists or the cheese and pickle sandwich-eaters of the world does not only those people who use the network a disservice, it also shows a closed mind to the possibilities of the system to the person saying it. I’m a person who likes to try to be in possession of all the facts before making a judgment. I don’t necessarily always achieve it, but that’s what I try and do. I feel that some people who have dismissed Twitter have done so before considering all the relevant information. If they were to use the network, they might be surprised at what, and who, they discover.

About Ashley Connick
Ashley Connick is a trainee solicitor at an international law firm. For a full profile, please visit the "About the Author" section of the blog.

9 Responses to Social Networking can be both Social and Networking…

  1. The other thing that the cheese and pickle lot cut themselves off from, is that for almost everyone who uses Twitter, we’ve ended up using it in new and different ways to what we expected, and different kinds of usage simply emerge from people jumping in and playing around with it.

  2. Ashley, great article here, well written.

    The converts to twitter (me included – @smather21) like to think it as a business networking tool. I agree. At the same time, I’d hate to be an employer with people “wasting time” on twitter!

    • Ash says:

      Thanks…I know what you mean, although there are strong arguments that it’s the most business-friendly of all the social networking sites (even LinkedIn). But I can certainly see that it’s a distraction!

  3. Wes ~PFCNFS~ says:

    Good stuff. I think Twitter is something you have to experience. I used to be of the pickles and cheese fraction as well (my particular fear was tht awl ppl wud b tlkng lyk dis) until I sought ways to advertise my cricket blog and found it inevitable to register at Twitter. Not that it gained me significantly more blog traffic, but the people you meet on Twitter, from New Zealand to Zimbabwe to Belgium to the US, and the conversations you lead with them, can be seen as a cultural experience on its own. And actually conversing with the messieurs Spriegel, Gibbs or Styris certainly puts the cherry on top of the cream.

    Cheers,
    Wes

    • Ash says:

      Initially one of the things I loved most about Twitter was the interaction with stars, and that became central to Twitter’s purpose for me. But that’s become, as you say, the extra icing on the cake rather than what it’s vital for. It’s relationships built with people with similar interests that is why I love Twitter, the ability to talk and exchange ideas. Exactly what the internet was made for.

  4. half-tracker says:

    I’ve been pleasantly surprised by Twitter. At first I thought it was just somewhere for ‘celebs’ to spout about what they’ve eaten for lunch etc, but you find that for every ‘interest’, be it cricket or law there is a whole community out there. People say that ‘oh, you sit on your computer when you could be out making friends’, but through Twitter you make so many friends you would never have met otherwise. Above all though I think that it’s the contact list it provides. Since joining Twitter I’ve somehow managed to get my ill thought ramblings printed in a magazine and in a book!

    Great blog btw Ashley, and thanks for the blogroll!

    • Ash says:

      Thanks, and no problem at all. You’re absolutely right and that’s what makes Twitter a different being from any other social networking site. That’s what I didn’t understand before I started using it and is the conceptual problem that people who don’t use it have. Magazine and book…very impressive indeed!

  5. Zyon says:

    Nice one. For me twitter has also changed my opinion on certain celebrities. I am a Chelsea fan, I hated Rio Ferdinand, but if you follow his feed you will realise that he does normal things too and he seems an alright guy. As well, unlike facebook, celebrities can respond to fans’ questions properly, and generally twitter humanizes them I feel.

    Personally, communicating with people I never would have is the most enjoyable aspect of twitter; it certainly has added to the ashes knowing there are other idiots willing to stay up through the night following the cricket.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

